2019 Merit Scholarships Announced




Service and success scholarships being awarded
across Kansas today.




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | August 8, 2019 | Topeka, KS - The Kansas Independent College Foundation, (KICF), on behalf of its 20-member institutions, is proud to announce the 2019 Maud Wyatt Recognition Scholarship Recipients. KICF awards up to 20 individual scholarships, for a student at each Foundation member institution. The recipients are all full-time, degree seeking students on the cusp of graduation, and have each demonstrated excellence in academics, character and integrity, and a commitment to the value of a private college education in Kansas. These students maintain GPAs of 3.5 or above while also contributing to their respective communities.

Please help us congratulate our 2019 recipients. We are confident that these scholarships will help them complete a degree that is preparing them for a lifetime of professional and personal fulfillment.

Baker University – Caelan Rogers, an English Literature major and native of Lawrence, KS

Barclay College – Ashley Weinacht, a Theology & Worship Arts major from Greenleaf, ID

Benedictine College – Jeremy Larsen, a Biochemistry major and native of Nortonville, KS

Bethany College – Lydia Nicholson, a Digital Art major from Hesston, KS

Bethel College – Kaci Wilson, a Chemistry major and a resident of Sterling, KS

Central Christian College of Kansas – Melissa Reimer, an Elementary Education major from Hesston, KS

Cleveland University-Kansas City – Darrell McDonald, a Human Biology major from Kansas City, MO

Donnelly College – Lilliana Rodriguez, a Liberal Arts major and native of Kansas City, KS

Friends University – MaKayla Hollis, a Biology major and resident of Conway Springs, KS

Hesston College – Hannah Klusman, an English major and native of Ford, KS

Kansas Wesleyan University – Hailey Vandevanter, a Business Management major from Georgetown, KY

Manhattan Christian College – Davinna Farney, a Bible & Leadership major from Park City, KS

McPherson College – Kento Aizawa, a Mathematics major local to McPherson, KS

MidAmerica Nazarene University – Maris George, an Elementary Education major from Cimarron, KS

Newman University – Taylor White, an Art major local to Wichita, KS

Southwestern College – Niyonkuru Innocent, an Accounting major from Jamestown, ND

Sterling College – Zoe Oppriecht, a Health Sciences major and native of Kansas City, MO

Tabor College – Tassanee Sanchez, an Elementary Education major from Abbotsford, BC, Canada

University of Saint Mary – Rachel Thomas, a Chemistry and Biology major from Claremore, OK


The scholarship was established in 1995 through the generosity of Maud Wyatt, whose bequest has supported the work of KICF and its institutions since 1961. The Kansas Independent College Foundation seeks to develop, promote, and direct unified approaches to selected corporations, foundations, and individuals for financial support of Kansas’ independent colleges and universities. Details, including the winners’ GPAs, can be found: http://www.kscolleges.org/mwet-scholarship.




Located in Topeka, the Kansas Independent College Foundation is a 501(c)3 that develops and enhances the competitive standing of its 20-member independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, degree-granting colleges and universities and strives to assure opportunity and choice in higher education for all students. For more information on the Foundation, please contact Jesyca Hope at 785-235-9877 or jesyca@kscolleges.org.