KICF Announces New Scholarships



Green & Gold Scholarships

$17,000 in New Scholarships to be Awarded to Kansas Students every Academic Year

The Kansas Independent College Foundation received 81 total nominations for its new collection of merit-based scholarships. A volunteer panel of nine judges helped select the 22 winners. Together these students represent 10 of KICF’s member schools with an exceptional average GPA of 3.7.

Each nominated student had to submit detailed essays about their leadership training, their future career goals, and why they chose an independent option for their higher education. A selection of quotes from the winning essays are included in this release.

In announcing the Green and Gold Scholarships, KICF President Matt Lindsey says, "I'm excited that this first round of scholarships can help us show Kansas and the world our best and brightest students. The colleges in KICF 'punch above our weight' in a number of areas. We're consistently at the top of the state in producing graduates in several fields - business, health care, teaching, fine and performing arts, and of course, ministry and faith. First generation students and students of color are more likely to graduate - and graduate on-time - from non-profit colleges like ours than other types of institutions. And we have robust programs designed to serve students who come back to school to complete their degree and who serve in our nation's armed services. These scholarships showcase those strengths.”

This upcoming, and every following academic year, KICF will award these scholarships to celebrate our diverse and talented student community who demonstrate a commitment to excellence, virtue, and integrity. Please join us in congratulating our 2020-2021 cohort of winners, (noted below with hometown, major(s) and institutions).

Minority Student Scholarship (5 @ $1,000 each):

William Bart (Leavenworth) – Pastoral Ministry, University of Saint Mary

Saigen Conrad (Baldwin City) – Studio Art, International Studies & Spanish, Baker University

Susana Cornejo (Cave Springs, AR) – Nursing, from Benedictine College,

Eric Vazquez (Great Bend) – Chemistry & Mathematics, University of Saint Mary

Irene Delarosa (Wichita) – Biology & Exercise Science, Tabor College. Irene told us, “The community, the professors, and the coaches all have so much faith in their students.”

First Generation Scholarship (5 @ $1,000 each):

Alaina Burris (Shawnee) – English & Communications, Ottawa University

Alexis Dominguez (Kansas City) – Athletic Health Care, Benedictine College

Aubree Galle (Spokane, WA) – Journalism, MassComm & Theology, Benedictine College

Raven Meadows (Baldwin City) – Sociology, Baker University

Stephanie Reichenberger (Leavenworth) – Mathematics & Secondary Education, University of Saint Mary. Stephanie says, “USM has allowed me to grow individually. There is so much offered here that allows students, like me, to discover themselves.”

American Service Member Scholarship (1 @ $1,000):

Stephen Schafer (Leavenworth) – Biology, University of Saint Mary

Better Life Degree Completion Award (1 @ $1,000):

Janell Fellers (Assaria) – Education, Kansas Wesleyan University. She praises her experience, “I feel my professors and instructors want me to do well and would love to see me go places. I certainly don't want to let any of them down. I will become successful in my career because of the encouragement they have given me.”

Future Leaders in Health Professions (2 @ $500 each):

Abbey Fischer (Leoti) – Health Sciences, Friends University

Sarah Schwinn (Leavenworth) – Nursing, Benedictine College.

Future Leaders in Business (2 @ $500 each):

Samir Elbasset (Valencia, Columbia) – Business Administration & Economics, Ottawa University

Gerardo Ortiz (Garland, TX) – Marketing & Management, Southwestern College

Future Leaders in the Arts (2 @ $500 each):

Ellen Budell (Lincoln, NE) – Art Major, Benedictine College

Tiffany Adams (Greeley, CO) – Art & Design, Sterling College. She shared, “My education has helped me become a confident artist, who knows what it takes to make a strong artistic statement, who can take the next step forward with a network of professionals around me and a strong portfolio.”

Future Leaders in Education (2 @ $500 each):

Grace Chavez (Denton, TX) – Elementary Education/Special Education, Sterling College

Rebekah Morris (Coffeyville) – Secondary Education & Mathematics, Kansas Wesleyan University

Future Leaders in Faith (2 @ $500 each):

Rebeca Dominguez (Winfield) – Philosophy & Religious Studies, Southwestern College

Grace Marozas (Beloit) – Bible Leadership & Pre-Nursing, Manhattan Christian College. Her winning essay included, I was voted the head of the Student Needs Committee on campus, and it has definitely challenged my leadership skills. I have had to organize events, reach out to students who are struggling, and even delegate. . .I know that the people who surround me at MCC and the knowledge I have obtained will be with me for a lifetime.”


The scholarship reviewers who volunteered to help KICF name these winners have a diverse collection of business, government, and education expertise. They are: Debbie Brevik, Vice President, Team Leader & Account Executive, IMA, Inc.; Doug Brown, Vice President of Business Development, Pioneer College Caterers; Kyle Christian, Legislative Assistant, Office of U.S. Senator Jerry Moran; Carrie Emberson, Marketing & Business Development Manager, BKD CPAs & Advisors; Jeff Flathman, President, Energy Solutions Professionals; Mischel Miller, Director of Teacher Licensure & Accreditation, Kansas Department of Education; Doug Penner, Former President, Kansas Independent College Association & Foundation; Ryan Rink, President, Two West Advisors; Mark Tallman, Associate Executive Director of Advocacy/Communications, Kansas Association of School Boards.

Details, including the winners’ GPAs, more quotes, and scholarship eligibility rules, can be found at:


Located in Topeka, the Kansas Independent College Foundation is a 501(c)3 that develops and enhances the competitive standing of its 20-member independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, degree-granting colleges and universities and strives to assure opportunity and choice in higher education for all students. For more information on the Foundation, please contact Jesyca Hope at 785-235-9877 or .