KICF Continues the Giving in 2020



Leader in Independent Higher Education awards more service and success scholarships across Kansas.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | The Kansas Independent College Foundation, (KICF), on behalf of its 20-member institutions, is proud to announce the 2020 Maud Wyatt Recognition Scholarship Recipients. KICF awards up to 20 individual scholarships, one for a student at each Foundation member institution. The recipients are all full-time, degree seeking students on the cusp of graduation, and have each demonstrated excellence in academics, character and integrity, and a commitment to the value of a private college education in Kansas. These students maintain GPAs of 3.5 or above while also contributing to their respective communities.

Please help us congratulate our 2020 recipients. We are confident that these scholarships will help them complete a degree that is preparing them for a lifetime of professional and personal fulfillment.

Baker University – Derek Bivens, a Physics Major from Knob Noster, MO

Barclay College – Will Hoving, a Psychology major from Bristol, ME

Benedictine College – Sebastion Orth, a Secondary Education major and native of Wichita, KS

Bethany College – Syndey Walker, an Elementary Education major from Bartlesville, OK

Bethel College – Abby Schmidt, a Business Administration major and a resident of Newton, KS

Central Christian College of Kansas – Breana Miller, an Elementary Education major from Phoenix, AZ

Cleveland University–KC – Sophie Yancey, an Occupational Therapy major from Independence, MO

Donnelly College – Salma Ramirez, a Liberal Arts major and native of Kansas City, KS

Friends University – Katie Cox, a Music Education major and resident of Rose Hill, KS

Hesston College – Natalie Ladd, a Social Work major and native of Hesston, KS

Kansas Wesleyan University – Jacob Lovell, a Biomedical Chemistry major from Junction City, KS

Manhattan Christian College – Beth Warren, a Christian Ministry major and resident of Manhattan, KS

McPherson College – Aaron Leck, a Biology major local to McPherson, KS

MidAmerica Nazarene University – Nathanial Alexander, a Youth & Family Ministry major from Union, MO

Newman University – Marie Moore, a Biology major local to Wichita, KS

Ottawa University – Elizabeth Hernandez, a Vocal Music Education major from Osawatomie, KS

Southwestern College – Taite Saldana, a Psychology major and resident of Augusta, KS

Sterling College – Blake Gladson, an Applied Mathematics major from Odessa, TX

Tabor College – Nathan Kemling, a Music Education major from Grant, NE

University of Saint Mary – Megan Cutting, a Nursing major from McPherson, KS


The scholarship was established in 1995 through the generosity of Maud Wyatt, whose bequest has supported the work of KICF and its institutions since 1961. The Kansas Independent College Foundation seeks to develop, promote, and direct unified approaches to selected corporations, foundations, and individuals for financial support of Kansas’ independent colleges and universities. Details, including the winners’ GPAs, can be found:




Located in Topeka, the Kansas Independent College Foundation is a 501(c)3 that develops and enhances the competitive standing of its 20-member independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, degree-granting colleges and universities and strives to assure opportunity and choice in higher education for all students. For more information on the Foundation, or for additional quotes from the winners, please contact Jesyca Hope at 785-235-9877 or