Scholarship Purpose

The Kansas Independent College Fund established the KICF Recognition Scholarship in 1995 in honor of those donors who have given to KICF for forty or more years. These corporations, foundations, and individuals have demonstrated a longstanding and heartfelt commitment to the importance of ensuring that students from all backgrounds can choose a private college education that is valuable, affordable, and effective at any of the 19 accredited non-profit institutions in Kansas.

Because the KICF Recognition Scholarship honors our donors, the scholarship itself seeks to recognize students who exhibit that same commitment to the value of a private college education. Hence, each of our Scholarship recipients have demonstrated leadership, character, attention to academic excellence, and an appreciation for the impact that a private college education has had on his/her life and how that private college education has prepared him/her for a lifetime of personal and professional fulfillment. 


60+ Year Donors

DeVore Foundation

Lario Oil & Gas Company

50+ Year Donors

First National Bank of Hutchinson

First State Bank

Henry E. Wurst Family Foundation

Maud Wyatt Educational Trust

Parmelee Foundation

Paul Uhlmann, Jr. and Elizabeth & Paul Uhlmann, III Fund

The Stock Exchange Bank

40+ Year Donors


Berry Foundation

Capitol Federal Foundation

Citizens State Bank

Denison State Bank

Evco Wholesale Food Corporation

George K. Baum Foundation

Hubco, Inc.

Kansas Philanthropies, Inc.

Legacy Bank

Orscheln Industries Foundation, Inc,

Security Bank of Kansas City

Sisters of Charity

KICF Recognition Scholars

We celebrate our past winners, thank them for their service to community and the KICA/F family. Their insight into the value of a private, independent education is also remarkable. Some of our favorite highlights include:

“Being a part of such a supportive school has allowed me to pursue my passions.”

“They have shown me that personal and professional success is not only measured by how successful you are, but what you do with your success. I think this summarizes how attending an independent institution has prepared me as a professional and a person.”

“The level of care and interaction that I receive from my professors has been instrumental in preparing me for my future success in medicine and beyond.”

“The experiences I’ve had have taught me how to be a good leader and teammate, work hard, persevere, get out of my comfort zone, and stick to my beliefs. Though there are many more things I have learned here, these skills will especially help me succeed in life after college, whether it be personal success or professional.”

2017: Kiley Varney, Bethel College

2016: Tyler Bade, Manhattan Christian College

2015: Hannah Kelley, Sterling College

2014: Christina Ward, University of Saint Mary

2013: Ashley Werner, Baker University

2012: Veronica Davis, Friends University

2011: Amanda Just, Ottawa University

2010: Matthew Hershberger, Bethel College

2009: Brent Stutzman, Bethel College

2009: Megan Renehan, Baker University

2008: Dane Baxa, Kansas Wesleyan University

2007: Yuta Kawarasaki, Ottawa University

2007: Katie Hill, McPherson College

2006: Bliss Hartnett, Baker University

2005: Robert Ullom, McPherson College

2004: Amy Lynn Newby, Friends University

2003: Wilma Mueller, Bethel College

2002: Shelley Good, Southwestern College

2001: Leila Zakirova, Bethany College

2000: Deborah Armbruster, Tabor College

1999: Shawn Papon, Southwestern College

1998: Cardelia Reeves, Donnelly College

1997: David Wilson, Bethel College

1996: Johnola Anderson, Donnelly College

Annual Report

Annual Report 2017 (PDF Document)

Download Annual Report 2017