Aspiring Campus Leadership Academy

The intent of this 18 month long engagement program is to help the member institutions of the Kansas Independent College Association strengthen our “bench” of future leaders for our academic departments and staff divisions. The Academy is the outgrowth of several years of conversation among our presidents and provosts about the need for a high quality leadership training opportunity targeted for smaller private colleges like ours. Moreover, all of us had identified a gap in the existing programs: while there were multiple programs for those interested in becoming provosts and/or presidents, there were few such programs focused on the other tiers of the organizational hierarchy – the division/department heads and deans. Thus, we’ve developed the KICA Aspiring Leaders Academy to fill the void.

The Academy consists of One-Day Intensive Symposiums disseminating tangible leadership skills to any interested institution employee. From there, leaders are nominated for the long-form program with curriculum surrounding budgeting within the broader institutional framework, using data effectively, hiring and faculty evaluation tools, program prioritization, work-life balance, advocacy, board recruitment and relationships, and 13 other key higher education issues. Participants of this next iteration will graduate in the Spring of 2019. 

“It has been said, ‘Our collective future is as bright as our leadership pipeline is full of great leaders.’ That’s why Spelman Johnson invests much of its time and resources in the development of a strong and diverse leadership pipeline for our nation’s colleges and universities. We are delighted to support KICA and its Leadership Academy.”
-Ellen Heffernan, President, Spelman Johnson

ComSpec chose to be involved in Higher Education because our leadership team strongly believes education is an extremely important issue to our society. Whether, educating students on skills in trades or to earn a two to four year degree, in order for a person to have a positive life, they need the skills or education to survive this fast changing job market. ComSpec is committed to higher education and the future leaders of tomorrow.
-Robert Brender, President, ComSpec (EMPOWER)

The 2017-2019 Aspiring Leaders Academy is made possible by our curriculum partners Credo, the Center for Creative Leadership, and PEN. But it would not even be feasible without the support and involvement of our presenting sponsors: 



Our 2018 Kickoff 

16 new Aspiring Leaders met together with KICA and CREDO staff in May of 2018 in Lawrence to begin their leadership journey. 

2017 Kansas' Aspiring Leadership Academy Graduates: Where are they Now

Andrea Cook is now the Administrator for APGS Academics 

NAME: Becky Bartell is now the Nursing Education Director for Hesston College 

NAME: Carine Ullom, Director, Instructional Design and Academic Technology

NAME: Stanford Cheyenne Kroeker, Associate Dean for Distance Education Programs

NAME: Damon Kraft is now Provost at Kansas Wesleyan University

NAME: Dee Erway-Sherwood, Associate Professor of Graphic Design, Program Director & Department Chair of Visual Arts

NAME: Duke Rogers is now Associate Professor of Business and Economics and Director of Outcomes Assessment for Bethany College

NAME: Enrique Nicola Barreiro is now a Professor in Business and Sports Science, Student-Athlete and Athletic Oversight Committee Chair, AND the Men’s Soccer Coach for Central Christian College of Kansas

NAME: Eric Fox-Linton, Associate Professor/Chair, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

NAME: Genilyn McCaffrey, Professor of Worship Ministry, Manhattan Christian College

NAME: Hans Nickel, Assistant Professor of Sports Management, New Faculty Development Coordinator, Faculty Athletic Representative

NAME: Jackson Lashier, is now Associate Professor of Religion and Division Chair, Social Sciences, Southwestern College

NAME: Jill Gonzalez-Bravo is now the Department Chair for the School of Education for MidAmerica Nazarene University 

NAME: Joshua Papsdorf, Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in Theology

NAME: Kerry Dobbins, Assistant Professor of History

NAME: Lisa Wallentine is now a Professor of Business, the Institutional Review Board Chair and the Faculty Communications Committee Chair for MidAmerica Nazarene

NAME: Lori Wright, Associate Professor of Art, Art and Design Department Chair

NAME: Marelby Mosquera, Natural Science Instructor, Biology & Environmental Science

NAME: Mark Bartel, Director of Choral Music; Associate Professor of Music

NAME: Mark Hayse is now a Professor of Christian Education, Director of the Honors Program, the Coordinator of Faculty Development for MidAmerica Nazarene University

NAME: Megan Rucker, Director of Radiologic Technologies

NAME: Michele Hinds, Associate Professor in Nursing

NAME: Nichole Pendleton is now an Associate Professor of  Accounting for Friends University

NAME: Preston Todd is now Assistant Dean of Student Success for the College of Business, Arts, Sciences, and Education at Friends University

NAME: Rebecca Williams, Writing Center Director & English Instructor

NAME: Robyn Long is now an Associate Professor of Psychology and Director of Study Abroad

NAME: Sandra Bequette, Assistant professor, Education; Early childhood unified director

NAME: Sara Crump, Associate Professor of Psychology

NAME: Spencer Wagley is now the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at Sterling College. 

NAME: Tammy Andrews, Assistant Professor of Psychology; Interim Chair of Social and Behavioral Science Department